Etsy Mini

Saturday, October 29, 2011

A little about me!

Hi Everyone!

I wanted to introduce myself to all my new fans! First of all, thank you for liking my apge! Your support means a lot to me!

I'm a 32 year old mother of 3, I was born and raised in Sweden but I have lived in the US for almost 10 years.

I have always loved to paint/draw and do craft projects!
Having small kids in the house doesn't exactly allow for a lot of art work to happen, but as of two years ago when my son was botn I just felt this great need to do something with my hands and I took up painting again. As I was making stuff I started posting pictures of it on facebook, and my friends started asking if they could buy my pieces, and eventually they also started asking me for custom items. It would go something like "hey I like that painting but can you make it bigger/smaller/bluer/greener/with ballerinas/cats/fish/my kids'¨name etc. So I said sure no problem, and I started making their stuff and more and more people started inquiring about custom items.

the one of my friends who is an accounant suggested I make a business of it, and I thought that sounded like a good idea so....to make a long story short...ta-daaaa here we are :-). About a year and a half later and business is good.
Let me clarify, when I say business is good, it means that I'm very busy and that I'm breaking even! It doesn't mean that I'm raking in the money and that I'm ready to retire, but I'm able to do what I love and I support my hobby and sometimes I get to put some money in my piggybank :).

I recently had someone tell me that "they want to do what I do" (because they want to make money).

I don't mean to be negative but if you need to make money for your family - if you need a second income to support your family, I would probably rather get a "real" job. Because making & selling artwork is hard work and loads and loads of hours for little money.

I can do it because at the same time as I'm painting I'm also staying home taking care of the kids. I get my oldest two on the bus in the morning, then I spend the day with my baby (and I work when he naps) I pick my kids up, make dinner etc.
It makes financial sense for us that I stay home, and plus I think it's great for the kids to have a parent at home. My husband works shift so he is home a lot too which is good when I have lots of orders to fill.

I'd love to get to know my fans better so feel free to leave a comment here or on my Fb page!

Have a great day!

├ůsa

Tuesday, October 11, 2011

Sweden, October 2011



I just spent a week in Sweden, and perhaps because Florida is so different, I was able to appreciate the beauty here in a new way.  I still don't think I could live here, it's way too gray and dreary.  Still pretty though!